Facebook is currently rolling out a new feature for its mobile app users. This new feature will automatically hide posts from user’s ex boyfriend or girlfriend. The social networking giant believes that this new feature will help its users to move on after the breakup. Along with hiding your ex-posts, Facebook can also hide all traces of your past relationship from the public. For example you can edit posts or photos you were tagged with your ex.
As soon as you change you Facebook relationship status as “Single,” you will automatically see a new option saying, “You can see less from “ex-name,” limit what he/she can see, and edit your photos. Just tap on the “Get Started” option and it will walk you though all the steps.
With the help of this feature you can even adjust your privacy settings to block your ex-girlfriend or boyfriend from seeing your posts. If you want then you can also let them only see posts they were tagged in.
“This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives,” Facebook product manager Kelly Winters wrote in a blog post.
None of these settings will be revealed to your ex or anyone else. Facebook will not tell your ex that you’ve made any changes. And obviously she/he will also receive the same options to hide posts or photos related to you.
Overall, this new feature is good, but not useful for everyone. I mean not everyone would want to get rid of their ex-boyfriend or girlfriend. There are still many who love to keep the golden memories of their ex. So, it is good to see that we have an option to choose whether we want to enable the above mentioned feature or not.
Facebook is currently testing it in the United States. And if feedbacks are good, then it will soon release it for every user on Facebook.